Massage Therapist Association of Saskatchewan, Inc Annual General Meeting March 6th, 2011 - 9:00 a.m. Travelodge Hotel – Galaxy Ballroom B Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Minutes of the meeting

Call to order (9:04 a.m.) - President Jolene Rigg

- 1.0 Housekeeping:
 - Introduction of current Board of Directors and Staff, Parliamentarian Dr. Brent Thoma and special guests Don Stewart, MTAS auditor from Stewart, Gee and Associates and Donelda Gowan–Moody, MTAS member and guest speaker.
 - The AGM is being recorded must come to the microphone to speak. For recording purposes, please identify yourself every time you speak.
 - Turn off all cell phones.
 - Coffee is outside in the foyer and will be served at 10:30am.
 - Bathrooms are also outside in the foyer.
 - Please leave your voting cards on the tables for collection at the end of the meeting.
 - Reminder to the students present not permitted to vote.
 - 2.0 Review/amend/adopt Agenda

2011 AGM -1 Motion to adopt the Agenda A. Senz/W. Linfield

CARRIED

2011 AGM-2 Motion that Dr. Brent Thoma be the Parliamentarian for today's meeting W. Wenaus/W. Barry CARRIED

- 3.0 Outline of Governance Procedures Dr. Brent Thoma
- 4.0 Review/amend/adopt Minutes of AGM April 18th, 2010

2011 AGM-3 Motion to review/amend/adopt the Minutes as presented.

L. Stephens/D. deBussac CARRIED

- 5.0 Business arising from Minutes nothing from the floor.
- 6.0 Thesis presentation "Research perceptions and utilization among massage therapists in Saskatchewan" Donelda Gowan-Moody, RMT, MSc.
- 7.0 Director's Reports
 - 7.1 President Jolene Rigg nothing to add.
 - 7.2 Treasurer Kyla McDonald

2011 AGM-4 Motion to accept the audited statements of 2010 as presented K. McDonald/L. Stephens CARRIED

2011 AGM-5 Motion to appoint Stewart Gee and Associates as the auditors for 2011 K. McDonald/L. Foster CARRIED

- 7.3 Education/Exam Don Wickstrom. Thanks to Peggy Bell for her years of service as Chief Examiner, introduce Cassandra Exner-Williams as the new Chief Examiner.
- 7.4 Insurance Julianne Heagy nothing to add.
- 7.5 Complaints/Discipline Len Waker nothing to add.
- 7.6 Membership/Public Relations Darlene McCoshen nothing to add.
- 7.7 Continuing Education Barbara Schultze nothing to add.
- 7.8 Legislation Jessica Green not in attendance.
- 7.9 Executive Director Lori Green. On behalf of Jessica Green, regarding the petition on legislation. We are currently at approximately 700 names, and would like to reach 1000 before sending these to the Government. Please continue to send them in to the office.

Thank you to the Board for their direction over the last year, and to the membership for their input.

New Business:

8.0 Amendments to the Bylaws

Amendment #1:

9.5 (b) Motion to strike "MTAC" and replace with "additional fees".

2011 AGM-6 K. McDonald/D. McCoshen

CARRIED

Amendment #2:

9.5 Membership Fees and Annual Dues (iv)

Motion to strike "December 31st" and replace with "November 1st".

2011 AGM-7 K. McDonald/D. McCoshen

DEFEATED

Motion #3:

That the membership fees be raised by \$70.00/year for practicing members and by \$35.00/year for non-practicing members. This will result in the total cost of \$400.00/year and \$200.00/year respectively.

2011 AGM-8

W. Barry/C. Exner-Williams

Discussion/debate from the floor resulted in an amended motion:

Motion #4:

That the increase be \$25.00/year for practicing members and \$12.50/year for non-practicing members. This will result in the total cost of \$355.00/year and \$177.50/year respectively.

2011 AGM-9

C. Exner-Williams/A. Struck

Further discussion/debate from the floor resulted in a new motion:

Motion #5:

To commit the amended motion and the main motion to a committee to determine what the annual membership fees should be, and to report back with recommendations to the membership at the AGM 2012.

Committee to be comprised of 5 members and the Board Treasurer.

Members to make up committee: Carey Gerlinsky, Darcel Kjelshus, Angelique Schroeder, Warren Barry, plus Don Wickstrom (current Education Director) and Kyla McDonald (current Treasurer).

2011 AGM-10 C. Gerlinsky/L. Foster CARRIED

(Note to the above motion #5: after the vote, B. Lidington suggested that the committee should include the Education Director. By unanimous consent, the membership in attendance agreed. The above motion #5 reflects this suggested addition.)

Report of the Nominating Committee – Christina Battyanie

- Five (5) Board members returning to complete their terms as elected –Julianne Heagy, Christina Battyanie, Kyla McDonald, Jessica Green and Jolene Rigg.
- Board members seeking re-election: Don Wickstrom, Len Waker and Darlene McCoshen.
- Seeking election: Aileen Tran Mapletoft Saskatoon, Gus Giannoutsos Regina, Garret Woynarski Regina, Tanya Auger – Regina.
- Currently have positions available for another two (2) Directors.

9.0 Elections.

Christina Battyanie, Vice President - call for further nominations from the floor:

- Marles Kernes, nominated by Michelle Franklin-Fiddler.
- Lenise Mang nominated by Karen Seitz.
- Darcel Kjelshus nominated herself.

There are 14 positions on the Board of Directors, 5 returning Board members and therefore 9 open positions. Currently have 10 nominations, thus requiring an election. Lenise Mang – declined the nomination.

2011 AGM-11 Motion that nominations cease

C. Battyanie/L. Stephens

CARRIED

10.0 Approval of the slate

> There are six (6) new Board members, in addition to the current eight (8), making a full complement on the Board of Directors, therefore no need for an election.

2011 AGM-12 Motion to move that the Board of Directors be appointed as presented. L. Foster/K. Braun **CARRIED**

- Thanks to Barbara Schultze and Guy Loiselle for their service.
- Welcome the new Board of Directors Christina Battyanie, Kyla McDonald, Don Wickstrom, Julianne Heagy, Len Waker, Darlene McCoshen, Jessica Green, Aileen Tran Mapletoft, Garret Woynarski, Gus Giannoutsos, Tanya Auger, Darcel Kjeslhus and Marles Kernes.

11.0 Date of next meeting:

We need to hold it in February. To be in compliance with the Non-Profit Corporations Act, we have to hold the AGM within 120 days of year end (October 31st).

2011 AGM-13 Motion to hold the next AGM in Regina on February 26th, 2012.

A. Senz/A. Struck **CARRIED**

Meeting adjourned at 11:17 a.m.